How to suppress the AutoDiscover Redirect warning in Outlook for Mac

When using Outlook in Mac with Office 365, you may receive a prompt saying — Outlook was redirected to the server autodiscover-s.outlook.com to get new settings for your account, Do you want to allow this server to configure your settings? In this post, I will show how you can disable or enable Auto Discover for Outlook in Mac with Office 365.

Outlook was redirected to the server autodiscover-s.outlook.com to get new settings for your account

How to suppress the AutoDiscover Redirect warning in Outlook for Mac

The URL displayed is https://autodiscover-s.outlook.com/autodiscover/autodiscover.xml. You should click on Allow only if you trust the source of your exchange, or the administrator instructs you to do so.

You can check the box and click on Allow or deny. If you don’t check the box, you will be prompted every time you launch Outlook.

How to suppress the AutoDiscover Redirect warning in Outlook for Mac

When Microsoft Outlook 2016 for Mac connects to an Office 365 account, Autodiscover is redirected from HTTP to HTTPS. This is where you receive the warning message. If you choose to allow and trust the source, you will not be prompted again.

Disable or Enable Auto Discover for Outlook in Mac with Office 365

Assuming you do not want, and your administrator also suggest not to do that, then here how you can disable auto-discover prompt for Outlook on Mac. Follow the steps:

  • Quit Outlook if it’s running.
  • Press Command + Spacebar, and type Terminal.
  • When it appears in the search, select it using the down arrow, and open it.
  • Enter the following command in the Terminal window, and then press Enter.
defaults write com.microsoft.Outlook TrustO365AutodiscoverRedirect -bool true
  • Close terminal.

If you want to disable, then use false instead.

The TrustO365AutodiscoverRedirect preference can be configured to use the following values:

Settings Value Details
true Don’t prompt for trusted Office 365 endpoints. Outlook defines what URLs are trusted, and this is not configurable.
false Outlook will use the default behavior, which is to prompt when Autodiscover Redirects occur.
if the value is not present Outlook will use the default behavior, which is to prompt when Autodiscover Redirects occur.

Post this, you will not receive any message about allowing and trusting the URL source for your Outlook on Mac.

I hope this bit helps!

Posted by on , in Category Office with Tags
Ashish is a veteran Windows, and Xbox user who excels in writing tips, tricks, and features on it to improve your day to day experience with your devices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


4 + 9 =