How to remove Facebook, Twitter, Google, LinkedIn, Dropbox App Permissions

For ease of use, many applications allow users to register and log in using Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Dropbox and Google accounts. Every application has lifetime access to your accounts or personal data unless you remove it.

It is recommended to check on these third-party applications at least once a month to know the connected services that you currently use and those that you no longer have other uses for.

Revoke app permissions

You must be wondering why some applications still have access to your accounts – Well, you gave them permission to do so. You see, whenever you use a web service or an application online which requires your account, the app doesn’t really ask for your password but requests to access your OAuth. There is a prompt that would appear to request for your permission, then if you agree, the apps get automatic access to your account. The account website gives the web service or app a token that it can use in order to proceed and access your account.

You get to keep your password despite giving them your authorization. You can also restrict or limit access to certain data in your account when given permission prompt. It is wise to note that you could easily forget apps and web services that have access to your accounts. You might have just tried a game or an app years ago and forgot about it – but that app still has access to your account until now.

You can try changing passwords, but that won’t work in removing app permissions. The key is to remove the access of these applications once you don’t use them anymore.

If you prefer to manually revoke access to third-party apps, then here’s how you do it:

Remove App Permissions from Facebook

remove Facebook, Twitter, Google, LinkedIn, Dropbox App Permissions

1] Sign in to your Facebook account.

2] Click on the downward pointing arrow at the top-right corner of the screen and click on Settings. On the list on the left-hand side, click on Apps. This opens the App Permissions page.

3] The page shows the list of apps you are logged on to, using your Facebook account. Click on x corresponding to the app/apps you want to remove and then click Remove to remove permissions from that app.

You can also click on Turn Off App Permissions for apps you don’t use.

Remove Google App Permissions

Removing app permissions from Google

1] Go to App Permissions page. The link for the App Permissions page for Google is here.

2] Click on the apps that you don’t use. It will expand and show the details.

3] Click Remove.

Revoke App Permissions from Twitter

Removing app permissionsfrom Twitter

1] Click on your profile picture on the top-right corner.

2] Select Settings and Privacy from the list which pops up.

3] On the list on the left-hand side, click on Apps. It will display the list of apps, to which you are logged on with your Twitter account.

2] Click on Revoke Access next to the apps that you don’t use.

Remove LinkedIn App Permissions

Removing app permissionsfrom LinkedIn

1] Click on your profile picture on the top-right corner and then on Settings and Privacy from the list.

2] Click Partner and Third Parties on the list on the left-hand side and choose the apps you wish to delete.

3] Click Remove.

Revoke Dropbox App Permissions

1] Click on your profile icon in the top-right corner and click on Settings of your Dropbox account.

2] In the security tab, scroll to the Apps Linked section.

3] Click on the x button corresponding to the apps to remove them.

Hope this helps!

Posted by on , in Category General with Tags

Karan Khanna is a passionate Windows 10 user who loves troubleshooting Windows problems in specific and writing about Microsoft technologies in general.