Forget Wireless Network Profiles in Windows 10

Windows usually connects to networks in this order – Ethernet, Wi?Fi and then Mobile broadband. Whenever you connect to a new Wi?Fi network, it’s added and stored in the list of profiles by Windows. The details stored in the profile could include its name, password, encryption method used, SSID, etc. Over a period of time this list of profiles can increase. At such a time, or to preserve your privacy, you may want to delete or remove the profiles. In this post we will see how you can remove, delete or forget Wireless Network Profiles using Windows 10 Settings app.

Delete, remove or forget Wireless Network Profiles in Windows 10

Press Win+I to open the Settings app. Select Network & Internet. Next click on Wi-Fi in the left panel. There you will see a link Manage Wi-Fi Settings. Click on it.

wireless-profiles-10

In the window which opens, you will see two settings – Wi-Fi Sense and Manage known networks. Under Manage known networks, select the network, and you will see two options – Share and Forget.

Forget Wireless Network Profiles

Click on Forget. This will delete the Wireless Network’s profile and connection details.

You can also manually delete WiFi Network Profiles in Windows 10 using the netsh wlan  command in the Command Prompt or by editing the Windows Registry.

Posted by on , in Category Windows with Tags
Anand Khanse is the Admin of TheWindowsClub.com, a 10-year Microsoft MVP Awardee in Windows (2006-16) & a Windows Insider MVP. Please read the entire post & the comments first, create a System Restore Point before making any changes to your system & be careful about any 3rd-party offers while installing freeware.