Firefox users are aware how their favorite browser tends to go slow, freeze or crash over a period of time. While one can always try and troubleshoot such Firefox Freezing or Crashing issues, if it does not work for you, you may want to consider the refresh or reset Firefox settings option, which the browser offers. Like the reset Internet Explorer feature, the reset Firefox feature too, will reset Firefox settings back to default.
Reset Firefox settings
To reset Firefox settings, open Help > Troubleshooting Information or simply type about:support in the address bar and hit Enter.
On the right top side you will see the option to Rest Firefox to its default state. If you are having problems with your Firefox, you could consider using this button.
Once you click on the Reset Firefox button, all your Firefox settings, including search engine & home page, will be restored to default. Moreover, your extensions, sync settings, open tabs, tab groups, themes and toolbars will be removed. However, your Passwords, Form Data, Browsing history, Favorites or Bookmarks, Cookies and Plugins will not be removed. They will instead be moved to new profile.
Firefox will create a new profile folder for you while saving your most important data like Firefox settings and personal information.
Firefox will retain the following data:
- Browsing history
- Web form auto-fill information
- Personal dictionary
Firefox will delete or restore to default state, the following items and settings:
- Extensions and themes
- Open tabs, windows and tab groups
- Site-specific preferences, search engines, download history, DOM storage, security certificate settings, security device settings, download actions, plugin MIME types, toolbar customizations and user styles
- All Firefox Services, including Facebook Messenger for Firefox will be removed.
UPDATE: In later versions of Firefox, you will see a Refresh Firefox – Give Firefox a tune up button, instead of Reset Firefox. You can also Tune up and Refresh Mozilla Firefox browser online.
Tomorrow, we will see how to reset Chrome settings to default.