How to re-enable Windows Sticky Notes delete confirmation prompt

The Sticky Notes in Windows 7 and Windows 8 allows you pin your notes and reminders to your desktop. Its a very useful feature and there is a lot you can do with it. Sometimes, you may want to delete an old sticky note. To do so, you click on the ‘x’. Now when you do that to delete a Sticky Note in Windows 8 / 7, you are prompted for confirmation. You have to click on yes and proceed. If you check the Don’t display this message again check box, to stop future prompts, you will not be prompted again the next time you delete a sticky note. But what if you decide later on that you’d rather have the prompt back? There is no way the Windows UI allows you to do it easily.

Windows Sticky Notes delete confirmation prompt

Re-enable Windows Sticky Notes delete confirmation prompt

If you wish to re-enable it back, then there are 3 ways you can re-enable the delete confirmation prompt.

1. Use our freeware FixWin Utility.

2. Download and apply this Microsoft Fixit 30001 solution. Details at KB971605.

3. Edit the registry. This tip comes to you courtesy my colleague Ramesh Kumar.

Open regedit and navigate to the following key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\StickyNotes

Double-click the PROMPT_ON_DELETE registry entry, in the right panel.

In Value box, type 00000001 & then click OK. Exit.

If you are a regular Windows 7 / 8 sticky notes user, you might find these Sticky Notes tips & tricks to use, format, backup and restore handy.

Posted by on , in Category Windows with Tags
Anand Khanse is the Admin of TheWindowsClub.com, a 10-year Microsoft MVP Awardee in Windows (2006-16) & a Windows Insider MVP. Please read the entire post & the comments first, create a System Restore Point before making any changes to your system & be careful about any 3rd-party offers while installing freeware.