The days are gone when Yahoo Mail used to be the most popular email service in the world. If you no longer use this email account, then you may want to delete your Yahoo account permanently. The steps are quite easy since Yahoo offers a dedicated page to understand the terms and deactivate or delete your account completely.
How to delete Yahoo account
To delete your Yahoo account, you need to carry out the following steps:
- Sign in to your Yahoo account
- Open Yahoo Privacy Dashboard
- Press the Delete account button
- Read the text
- Confirm termination of the Yahoo account.
The detailed steps are mentioned below so that you can finish the job with ease.
First, open the Yahoo Privacy Dashboard page in your browser. It will ask you to enter the account credentials to verify your account. After doing that, you will see this panel-
Click the Continue deleting my account button. On the following page, you have to enter your email address again.
Do that, and click the Yes, terminate this account button. At last, you can find a message like this-
Please note that your account doesn’t get deleted instantly. Yahoo keeps the account for approximately 30 days. However, if you are from India, New Zealand, and Australia, Yahoo can store it for 90 days. If you are from Brazil, Taiwan, and Hong Kong, they can keep it for approximately 180 days.
Once the request is submitted, you will find an email on your recovery email ID.
You should know that Yahoo can keep some data after removing your account. It is recommended to read the privacy page to know everything about this. Also, there is no way to recover the account once submitted for deletion. Therefore, we suggest that you remove the email ID from all your online accounts.