If you no longer want to use the music service, you can close or delete Spotify account permanently with the help of this tutorial – whether you are using a Premium or a free account.While you may not be able to find a direct option from the Account settings page, Spotify does offer this option to the users.
What happens when you close your Spotify account
Before closing your account, you might want to know what happens when you delete your account? Can you reactivate your account or not?
For your information, if you close your Spotify account, you will lose your saved music, podcasts, playlists, followers, username, etc. However, Spotify allows users to reactivate an account within seven days of closure. The problem is that you cannot get the same username once the reactivation period is over.
How to close or delete Spotify account permanently
To close to delete Spotify account permanently, follow these steps-
- Open the Contact Customer Support page on the Spotify website.
- Log in to your Spotify account.
- Click the Account tab.
- Select I want to close my account option.
- Click the CLOSE ACCOUNT button.
- Confirm the change by clicking the CLOSE ACCOUNT button again.
- Click the CONTINUE button twice.
- Open the email and click the CLOSE MY ACCOUNT button.
Open the Contact Customer Support page on the official website of Spotify and log in to your Spotify account.
Here you can see several options, but you need to click on the Account option. After expanding the Account section, select the I want to close my account option.
On the next page, click on the CLOSE ACCOUNT button.
Following that, Spotify will ask you to confirm the closure. To do so, you need to click the CLOSE ACCOUNT button. Now, it should ask you to confirm your account details. You may see your profile picture, playlists, followers, etc. If the account details are correct, you can click the CONTINUE button.
Now, this music streaming site should tell you everything that is about to happen when you close your account. You need to make a tick in the I understand checkbox and click the CONTINUE button. After that, you should receive an email containing a CLOSE MY ACCOUNT button that you need to click to finish the closure.
Once you do that, you are done with this process. Now you cannot find your Spotify account as active.