Enable, Disable Delete Confirmation Box for Recycle Bin in Windows 8

Windows 8 users may have noticed that when you delete a file to the Recycle Bin, unlike in Windows 7 and earlier versions, the new operating system will no longer show you the Delete Confirmation Box. This is because Microsoft found that most users preferred to turn off this delete warning. As a result, it is turned off by default.

Enable Delete Confirmation Box for Recycle Bin in Windows 8

But if you wish you can enable the Delete Confirmation Box. To do so right-click on the Recycle Bin and select Properties.

Check the Display delete confirmation dialog box and click on Apply/OK.

The next time you delete any file to the Recycle Bin, you will get to see the Are you sure you want to move the folder/file to the Recycle Bin box.

The same procedure is, of course, applicable in Windows 7 too.

I personally prefer to have the default setting, viz not have the delete confirmation box displayed. What about you!?

These links may also interest you:

  1. Display Recycle Bin in Computer folder in Windows 8, Windows 7 and Windows Vista
  2. Add Recycle Bin To Taskbar In Windows 8
  3. Increase the size of Recycle Bin
  4. Create a Recycle Bin for USB Drive & Removable Media
  5. BinManager: A Manager for your Recycle Bin.
Posted by on , in Category Windows with Tags
Anand Khanse is the Admin of TheWindowsClub.com, a 10-year Microsoft MVP Awardee in Windows (2006-16) & a Windows Insider MVP. Please read the entire post & the comments first, create a System Restore Point before making any changes to your system & be careful about any 3rd-party offers while installing freeware.