Your Facebook account is important to you, but you’re in a tight spot because it’s been disabled!? There might come a time when your Facebook account is either disabled or locked, and this is where you’ll be wondering about what to do next. Chances are, your Facebook account was disabled by you or someone else. If that’s the case, then this post will show you how to recover & reactivate a disabled Facebook Account.
How to recover a disabled Facebook Account
- If you deactivated your Facebook account, you can cancel its deletion within 14 days. After the passage of 14 days, there is no way to reinstate your deleted Facebook account.
- If your account was deactivated by Facebook, then you’ll need to submit an appeal to Facebook.com. Depending on the reason for the deactivation of your account, Facebook may never reinstate it.
- The only option, then, is to create a new account and forget the old one.
You deactivated your Facebook account
If you’ve disabled your account, then the following steps should be good enough to get things up and running again.
- Log into your Facebook account by entering your email address and password.
- If your account was put up for deletion, you should see a prompt asking to either Cancel Deletion or Confirm Deletion.
- Simply click on the Cancel Deletion button to save your profile from permanent deletion.
- We understand that your profile will be reinstated at the same state it was in before, so there’s nothing to fear.
Like many users of the social network, there’s a chance you might have grown tired of Facebook, and as such, you’ve gone ahead and temporarily deactivated the account. Now, to get it back to its regular form, this can be done quite easily.
For those who have intentionally place their Facebook profile up for deletion, then be sure to log in before the first 14 days if you want to save it from permanent deletion. After the 14-days have passed, then there’ll be no other way to reinstate it.
The account has been disabled by Facebook
If your account has been disabled by Facebook, you’ll see a special message when you try to log in. Facebook deactivates accounts for the following reasons:
- Using a fake name
- Impersonating someone
- Posting content that doesn’t follow the Facebook Terms
- Continuing behavior that’s not allowed on Facebook by violating Community Standards
- Contacting other people for harassment, advertising, promoting, dating or other conduct that’s not allowed.
Now, if you felt you’ve been punished by Facebook, then it’s time to check if your account is locked. Visit Facebook, then log in using your username and password. From there, if the social network disabled your account, then you should see “Account disabled.” All is not lost because the option is there to file an appeal. If you think your account was disabled by mistake, you can file an appeal here on Facebook.
The appeal section will require a picture copy of your ID, so be sure to have one on the ready, Finally, add details of your appeal in the “Additional info” section, and you’re good to go from there.
Sit back and wait for a response from Facebook about the possibility of returning your account to normal. It may or may not happen, so cross your fingers and hope for the best.
Related read: What to do when Facebook Account is hacked.