Social Media is an integral part of our lives today. Be it sharing our day-to-day live stories on our timelines or instant messaging, we are all kind of addicted to social media.
When we talk about social media or instant messaging, two names that first come to our mind are Instagram and WhatsApp. While Instagram is more about sharing pictures, WhatsApp is the most popular instant messaging apps being used worldwide. These apps are undoubtedly are amazing but yes, we do often have to face some hatred around in the form of comments or DMs.
What do you do when you get hate comments or DMs in your WhatsApp or Instagram accounts? Do you ignore them or take some action? Or do you straight-away block them? Do you know what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp or Instagram? Also, we will be covering how to block or unblock someone on Instagram and WhatsApp. Well, this is what today’s article is about.
How to block or unblock someone on WhatsApp
Since it is the most popularly used instant messaging app and is available for free to everyone, it is pretty obvious that we may face some unwanted stuff. It could be the hoax and fake messages, some kind of advertising group, or the annoying good morning and good night wishes.
Blocking is the best option if you are annoyed by some particular use on WhatsApp and yes, it is super simple and quick.
To block someone on WhatsApp, open the contact details in WhatsApp, scroll down and click on Block. Similarly, you can unblock if you want to.
What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp?
- If you block someone on WhatsApp, they will not be able to send you messages or call you on WhatsApp.
- No messages sent by them will reach you.
- They can’t see your last seen timestamps, your DP (Display Picture), status updates,
The contact though is not removed from your phone or WhatsApp contacts. You can unblock the contact anytime you want simply by clicking on Unblock in the chat window.
How to block or unblock someone on Instagram?
Instagram is no less popular than WhatsApp and is one of the best platforms to make some good connections and share your photos and videos with your friends and family. Like every other social media platform, you get annoying people on Instagram too, and again you can simply block such people with just a few clicks.
To block someone on Instagram, go to their profile-> click on the three dots on the top right corner and click on Block. You can also Restrict them if you don’t really want to block them.
If you change your mind and want to unblock them, go to your Instagram Settings–>Privacy–>Scroll down and click on Blocked Accounts.
Click on Unblock for the account you want to unblock.
What happens when you block someone on Instagram?
Instagram doesn’t send a notification when you block someone. When you block them-
- They cannot send you any DMs (direct messages)
- They cannot follow you and see your posts or stories and obviously can’t like or comment on your posts.
- When you unblock them back, they can do all of these.
When you block someone on WhatsApp, what do they see?
A blocked person won’t be notified, but they won’t be able to see your profile information, including your profile picture. Your messages will also be unavailable to them and any messages you send to them. There will be no way for them to contact you or find you online. However, you will still be able to see the contact’s profile photo in your contacts list. WhatsApp blocking ensures you won’t receive messages, calls, or other interactions from the person.
What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?
Users with restricted access can no longer view other users’ posts, stories, or comments. There will be no change in the number of followers for the restricted user. Restricted users, however, will no longer be able to comment on their posts or read their stories. Furthermore, the restricted user will not be able to see whether the restricted user is active or whether the restricted user has read the restricted user’s direct messages. It will also no longer be possible for the restricted user to tag or mention the restricted user in posts. In addition, the restricted user will not be able to see if the restricted user has liked or saved any posts.
Now read: How to Block someone on Google Drive.