Most web browsers for Windows let you clear browsing history, but the recent update to this popular browser has added a cool new privacy feature that lets you clear your web browsing history instantly in a click – even letting you define the period. The new Forget button in Firefox gives you even more control over your privacy. This button lets you wipe out your recent browsing history without affecting the rest of your other data.
You will not see it by default in your Mozilla Firefox UI, you will have to add it.
Add Forget button to Firefox
To add the Forget button to your Firefox toolbar, click on the Menu and select Customize. You will see a bunch of buttons. Select and drag the Forget button from the Additional Tools and Features panel to your toolbar.
Close the Customize tab. You will now see the red Forget button in your Firefox toolbar.
Now when you visit any website and at some time you want to clear your recent history, click the Forget button.
The button lets you even select the time frame. The available options are:
- 5 minutes
- 2 hours
- 24 hours.
Once you select your option and click on the red Forget button, the following will happen:
- Recent Cookies will be deleted
- Recent History will get deleted
- All Tabs and Windows will be closed
- A new Firefox windows will be opened.
I am sure that this will work for you and help you stay private, especially if you want to erase all traces of some website you may have visited.
Some of you may also want to see how you can start Private Browsing in Firefox. When you start a Private Browsing window, Firefox won’t keep any browser history, search history, download history, web form history, cookies, or temporary internet files.
If you want to keep your Browsing private, check out the JonDoFox plugin for Firefox.