Prevent Google from displaying your Name, Image in Ads & Clear Synced data in Chrome

At its core, Google still remains an advertising company. The search giant generates revenue from the ads. So, if you are 18+, the latest revisions brought to Google terms of service highlight the company can use your Google profile to discuss and promote products, it intends to. If you are underage, luckily, your profile is spared from the abuse. Nevertheless, you can disable the feature by simply unchecking an option displayed on Shared Endorsements program page by Google.

Google endorsements

This program permits Google to use your Google Plus activity based on product reviews to give recommendations to your friends in Google’s search result. They can see your image displayed alongside a product. At any given time, you can prevent Google from using your information in ads.

Stop Google from Using Name and Picture in Ads

First, log in to your Google Plus account. Move your mouse cursor over the ‘Home’ button in the upper left corner of the page and expand it to choose ‘Settings’ from the list.

Settings

Then, under the Settings page look for the Shared Endorsements option, and click the Edit link.

Edit link

Next, below the lengthy strings of texts of the Shared Endorsements page, you will find ‘Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads’ option. By default, this option is checked, uncheck it and click Save.

close ads

Finally, click Continue when you see the prompt message.

continue option

Now, we see how to clear Sync data in Chrome browser

Clearing Synced data in Chrome Browser

Syncing allows a user to access his browser data and settings from anywhere just by signing into his account. The same feature however runs the risk of passing sensitive information to cyber punks, if the account is hacked. Fortunately, there’s a way for bypassing this route.

Log in to your Google account. Once in, you will notice a page containing all your current Google products. Scroll down the list until you find Chrome Sync. Click on the Manage Chrome Sync link.

Manage Chrome Sync

In the next screen, you can find information pertaining to the features synced to your account.

Chrome Sync clear

To clear all the synced data from your Google account, click the Stop and Clear button at the bottom of the page. Before you proceed, a word of caution – The data cleared cannot be recovered so, proceed carefully.

Stop syncing conirmation

Click the OK button to process when you see the confirmation message.

Posted by on , in Category General with Tags
The author Hemant Saxena is a post-graduate in bio-technology and has an immense interest in following Windows, Office and other technology developments. Quiet by nature, he is an avid Lacrosse player. Creating a System Restore Point first before installing a new software, and being careful about any third-party offers while installing freeware is recommended.